Danske Kroner, photo Connie Maria Westergaard


The currency in Denmark is Danish Kroner (DKK). One krone is divided into 100 Øre.

Coins are circulated in the following denominations: 50 Øre (copper) 1 Krone, 2 Kroner, 5 Kroner (silver, each with a hole in the centre) 10 and 20 Kroner (both brass)

Bank notes are issued in denominations of: 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1,000 Kroner
If you are carrying more than EUR 10,000, when travelling in or out of Denmark, you have to declare it to SKAT. This applies regardless of whether you travel to and from another EU member state or a non-EU member state.

Most places accept Euros, while some accept American Dollars, Norwegian- and Swedish Kroner, but please note that the exchange rate is not to your benefit.

Share this page